top of page

WEST-EASTERN DIVAN
Johann Wolfgang von Goethe's collection of
poems in musical interpretation

 

What is hard to cover? Fire!

Flame, the monster, will betray

By night its presence, smoke by day.

Hard to hide is love's desire;

However hushed and close it lies,

Love will leap forth from the eyes.

Hardest is a song to hide;

Under bushel 'twill not bide;

Did the poet sing it new,

It has pierced him through and through;

If pranked with pen, his eye approve it,

He would have the whole world love it,

Aloud he reads it joyously

To all - to plague or edify

West-Eastern Divan is a collection of poems by Johann Wolfgang von Goethe inspired by the poetry of the Persian poet Hafiz. This work inspired the musicians of the ensemble to initiate the project of the same name and to interpret Goethe's Divan musically. The program of the "West-Eastern Divans" includes works of Persian, Azerbaijani traditional music and pieces by German composers of the 16th and 17th centuries. Centuries like Michael Praetorius, Heinrich Schütz and Johann Staden.

THE SILK ROAD

A journey of irony, comedy, tragedy and reconciliation
united in one story

The Silk Road played an important role in the development of cultural relations between the peoples of Europe and Asia. Music, stories, religious and philosophical thought accompanied travelers along what was once the most important trade route.
Based on historical events such as the fall of Constantinople and the expulsion of the Jews and Arabs from Spain, this project creates a musical arc between the centers of events, connecting Venice with Istanbul, Granada with Isfahan.

 

Accompanied by monologues, poetry by Persian poets and music by Claudio Monteverdi, Guillaume Dufay, Tarquinio Merula and Byzantine composers before and after the Islamization of Istanbul, it is a dramaturgically and artistically unique scenic project that is intended to stimulate dialogue between Western and Eastern culture in modern society and to serve as an impulse generator in the context of social developments.

EAST-SIDE STORY

The Elizabethan Age in the Ottoman Empire

Despite a ban on trade under threat of excommunication, English merchants maintained good economic relations with the Ottoman Empire. As a result of Her Majesty's exclusion from the Church, Elizabeth I sought relations with Sultan Murad III and the Ottoman Empire to counter Catholic Europe.  In a letter, Murad III wrote that Islam and Protestantism had "much more in common than with Roman Catholicism, since they both reject idolatry".

Murad.Han III.jpg

England sent metal melted down from the dismantled roofs and bells of Catholic churches to Istanbul and received gold in return, of almost comparable weight.

This alliance was reflected in the English cultural and musical scene. Among others, in the works of William Shakespeare and Christopher Marlowe. This close relationship is musically accompanied in the East Side Story programme with the composers such as John Dowland, Anthony Holbonre, Ali Ufki and Ottoman traditional music.

THE SEVEN COLOURS

of the Mugam

 

The phrases and pauses of a Mugam melody reproduce the unpredictable rhythm of living human speech. This melody would resemble a Gregorian chant if it did not differ from it in its emotional warmth and ornamentation.

Teppich im Schmelzen_edited.jpg

There are seven main mugams of Azerbaijani music, which differ from each other in their originality and musical character. And each of these mugams has its own spectrum of colours. Like an oriental carpet...
The programme features music of the Spanish Renaissance and the seven Azerbaijani mugams.

bottom of page

top of page

WEST-ÖSTLICHER DIVAN

Johann Wolfgang von Goethes Gedichtsammlung in musikalischer Interpretation
 

Was ist schwer zu verbergen?

Das Feuer!

Denn bei Tage verrät's der Rauch,

Bei Nacht die Flamme, das Ungeheuer.

Ferner ist schwer zu verbergen auch

Die Liebe; noch so stille gehegt,

Sie doch gar leicht aus den Augen schlägt.

Man stellt es unter'n Scheffel nicht.

Am schwersten zu bergen ist ein Gedicht;

Hat es der Dichter frisch gesungen,

So ist er ganz davon durchdrungen.

Hat er es zierlich nett geschrieben,

Will er, die ganze Welt soll's lieben.

Er liest es jedem froh und laut,

Ob es uns quält, ob es erbaut.

West-östlicher Divan ist eine von der Poesie des Persischen Dichters Hafis inspirierte Gedichtsammlung von Johann Wolfgang von Goethe. Dieses Werk hat die Musiker vom Ensemble angeregt, das gleichnamige Projekt ins Leben zu rufen, und Goethes Divan musikalisch zu interpretieren. Das Programm des „West-östlichen Divans“ umfasst Werke der persischen, aserbaidschanischen traditionellen Musik und Stücke der deutschen Komponisten der 16./17. Jahrhunderte wie Michael Praetorius, Heinrich Schütz und Johann Staden.

DIE GROßE SEIDENSTRASSE

 

eine Reise voller Ironie, Komik, Tragik

und Versöhnung vereint in einer Geschichte

Die Seidenstraße spielte eine wichtige Rolle bei der Entwicklung der kulturellen Beziehungen zwischen den Völkern Europas und Asiens. Musik, Geschichten, religiöses und philosophisches Gedankengut begleiteten die Reisenden entlang der einst wichtigsten Handelsroute.
Basierend auf historischen Ereignissen wie dem Fall Konstantinopels und der Vertreibung der Juden und Araber aus Spanien spannt dieses Projekt einen musikalischen Bogen zwischen den Zentren des Geschehens und verbindet Venedig mit Istanbul, Granada mit Isfahan.

Begleitet von Monologen, Poesie persischer Dichter und Musik von Claudio Monteverdi, Guillaume Dufay und byzantinischen Komponisten vor und nach der Islamisierung Istanbuls ist es ein dramaturgisch und künstlerisch einzigartiges szenisches Projekt. Es thematisiert die Kommunikationsprobleme zwischen westlicher und östlicher Kultur, zeigt aber auch den gegenseitigen Respekt in der Neuzeit, trotz der politischen Konflikte. Das Projekt soll das gegenseitige kulturelle Verständnis fördern und dient als Anregung und Impuls für den Dialog in der modernen Gesellschaft.

EAST-SIDE STORY

Das Elisabethanische Zeitalter im Osmanischen Reich

Trotz eines Handelsverbots unter Androhung einer Exkommunikation pflegten die englischen Händler gute wirtschaftliche Beziehungen zum Osmanischen Reich. Infolge des Kirchenausschlusses ihrer Majestät, suchte Elisabeth I Beziehungen zum Sultan Murad III und dem Osmanischen Reich, um dem katholischen Europa entgegenzuwirken.  In einem Brief schrieb Murad III, der Islam und der Protestantismus hätten "viel mehr gemeinsames, als zum römischen Katholizismus, da sie beide die Götzenanbetung ablehnen".

Murad.Han III.jpg

England schickte Metall, das von den abgebauten Dächern und Glocken katholischer Kirchen eingeschmolzen wurde, nach Istanbul und erhielt im Gegenzug Gold, und zwar von fast vergleichbarem Gewicht.

Dieses Bündnis spiegelte sich in der englischen Kultur- und Musikszene wider. Unter anderem in den Werken von William Shakespeare und Christopher Marlowe. Diese enge Beziehung wird im Programm East Side Story mit den Komponisten wie John Dowland, Anthony Holbonre, Ali Ufki musikalisch und osmanischer Traditionsmusik begleitet.

DIE SIEBEN FARBEN

des Mugams

Die Phrasen und Pausen einer Mugam-Melodie reproduzieren den unvorhersehbaren Rhythmus der lebendigen menschlichen Sprache. Diese Melodie ähnelt einem gregorianischen Choral, wenn sie sich nicht in ihrer emotionalen Wärme und Ornamentik  von ihr unterscheiden würde.

Teppich im Schmelzen_edited.jpg

Es existieren sieben Hauptmugams der aserbaidschanischen Musik, die sich durch ihre Originalität und ihren musikalischen Charakter voneinander unterscheiden. Und jeder dieser Mugams hat eigenes Farbenspektrum. Wie ein Orientteppich...

Im Programm klingt Musik der Spanischen Renaissance und die sieben aserbaidschanische Mugams.

bottom of page